Faculty Honors


Over the years, our  faculty have been recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, and service at the College, University, National, and International levels. 

External Honors:

Osman Balci
    McLeod Founder's Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession from the Society for Modeling and Simulation International, 2013

Godmar Back  

    NSF CAREER Award, 2009

    ALA/LITA Brett Butler Entrepreneurship Award, 2007

    ACM/SIGPLAN Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2003

Doug Bowman

    IEEE Visualization and Graphics Tech. Comm.  2014 Technical Achievement Award in Virtual Reality

    Impact Award, GVU Center at Georgia Tech, 2012
    ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2010
    IEEE Distinguished Service Award, 2008
    NSF CAREER Award, 2003

Ali Butt
    ACM Senior Member, 2012
    IEEE Senior Member, 2010
    NSF CAREER Award, 2008

Kirk Cameron
    Innovator of the Week, BusinessWeek Magazine, 2011
    Fellow, Uptime Institute, 2008
    DOE Early Career Principal Investigator Award, 2004
    NSF CAREER Award, 2004

Yang Cao
    NSF CAREER Award, 2010

Wu Feng

     VA Outstanding Faculty Award, 2014

    HPCwire's People to Watch list, 2011

    ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2010

Edward A. Fox
   1st Annual NDLTD Leadership Award, 2004 
   IEEE Senior Member, since 2004

Stephen Edwards

    ACM Distinguished Educator, 2014

    VA Outstanding Faculty Award, Teaching with Technology, 2013  

Denis Gracinin
    ACM Senior Member, 2010
    ONR-ASEE summer senior faculty fellow, 2005, 2010
    NASA summer faculty fellow, 2004
    IEEE Senior Member, 2003

Dongyoon Lee

    ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award, University of Michigan  2013

Wenjing Lou

   IEEE Fellow, 2015
   WPI Sigma Xi Outstanding Junior Faculty Researcher Award, 2009
   NSF CAREER Award, 2008
   WPI Joseph Samuel Satin Distinguished Fellow, 2006

 C.T. Lu

   ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2015

Scott McCrickord  
    NCWIT Faculty Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award winner, from the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT), 2012
    Frontiers in Education New Faculty Fellowship Award, from the National Academy of Engineering, 2004.

Madhav Marathe

    ACM Fellow, 2014.

    IEEE Fellow, 2013.

T. M. Murali

   ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2013. 

Alexey Onufriev 
    Hewlett Packard Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, the American Chemical Society, 2009

Manuel A. Pérez-Quiñones
    ACM Service Recognition Award for Service as Member of Steering Committee of the Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing Conference, 2012
    ACM Service Recognition Award for Service as Member of Steering Committee of the Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing Conference, 2011
    ACM Service Recognition Award for Service as Co-Chair of the Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity in Computing Conference, 2009
    IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Visitors Program, 2008-2010
    NSF CAREER Award, 1999
    Frontiers in Education Faculty Fellow, 1999, San Juan, Puerto Rico.
    ASEE Summer Faculty Fellowship at Naval Research Laboratory, 1998
    Alan Berman Research Publications 1992 Naval Research Laboratory for Ballas, J. A., Heitmeyer, C. L., & Pérez, M. A. (1992) Direct Manipulation and Intermittent Automation in Advanced Cockpits.

Naren Ramakrishnan

    '40 under 40' List of Distinguished Alumni, Purdue University, 2010
    ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2009
    HP Labs Innovation Award, 2009
    Computerworld's '40 under 40' list of innovative IT people to watch, 2007
    New Century Technology Council Innovation Award, 2001
    NSF CAREER Award, 2000

Barbara G. Ryder

    ACM SIGSOFT Influential Educator Award, 2015

    College of Engineering Diversity Committee Award for commitment to diversity, 2015 

    VA AAUW  Woman of Achievement Award, 2014    
    ACM Presidential Award, 2008
    Rutgers University Graduate School Teaching Award, 2007
    Rutgers University Leader in Diversity Award, 2006
    CRA-W Distinguished Professor, 2004
    ACM SIGPLAN Distinguished Service Award, 2001
    ACM Fellow, 1998

Adrian Sandu

    ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2015
    NSF CAREER Award, 2001

Cliff Shaffer

    ACM Distinguished Educator, 2015

    ACM Senior Member, 2007

    IEEE Senior Member, 2007
    AMES Laboratory Undergraduate Computational Science Award, 1994

Eli Tilevich
    IEEE Senior Member, 2012
    ACM Senior Member, 2012

Layne T. Watson
    Outstanding Reviewer Award, Emerald Publishing Co., for the journal Engineering Computations, 2012
    Fellow of the International Society of Intelligent Biological Medicine, 2008
    Fellow of The National Institute of Aerospace, 2004
    First Place George Marra Award for Excellence in Writing, Society for Wood Science and Technology, 2004
    DARPA BioSPICE Special Recognition Award, 2002
    Fellow of The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 1993
    Special Year lecturer at The University of Maryland, 1981  

Danfeng Yao

    NSF CAREER Award, 2010
    L-3 Communications Cyber Faculty Fellow, 2014  
    Young Investigator Award, Army Research Office, 2014

  • Virginia Tech Honors:

Dwight Barnette
  XCaliber Individual Award, 1999

Doug Bowman

    COE Dean's Award for Research excellence, 2012
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2005

Ali Butt
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2013
    COE Dean's Award for Outstanding New Assistant Professor, 2009

Kirk Cameron
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2007

Wu Feng
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2011

Edward A. Fox
    College of Engineering Dean's Award for Excellence in Service

Denis Gracinin
    VT XCaliber Team Award, 2010

Wenjing Lou

     COE Faculty Fellow, 2014.

T.M. Murali
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2012
    VT Outstanding Dissertation Advisor Award, Science, Mathematics and Engineering, 2008
    COE Dean's Award for Outstanding New Assistant Professor, 2005 

Chris North

    COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, 2014.

Alexey Onufriev 
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2010
    COE Dean's Outstanding New Assistant Professor Award, 2007 

Manuel A. Pérez-Quiñones
    COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Service, 2011
  “Leading Research Collaborators” List, Office of the Vice President for Research, Virginia Tech, for the FY 2007 (First and Second Quarter) #36 on list
   Virginia Tech Researcher of the Week, September 8-12, 2003


Naren Ramakrishnan  
    VT Alumni Award for Research Excellence, 2011 
    COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, 2010 
    COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2005
    COE Faculty Fellow, 2005

Danfeng Yao    
    COE Dean's Award for Outstanding New Assistant Professor, 2012

Layne T. Watson
    COE Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, 2007
    Virginia Tech Alumni Award for Excellence in Research, 2000