People at VT Computer Science

 

Godmar Back

Associate Professor

Office: 2212 KWII
Email: gback@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3046
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~gback/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: by appointment
 
 

Osman Balci

Professor

Office: 638 McBryde Hall
Email: balci@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4841
Website: http://manta.cs.vt.edu/balci/
Office Hours: 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday & Thursday (or send e-mail to get an appointment)
 
 

Dwight Barnette

Senior Instructor Director of Academic Operations

Office: 632 McBryde Hall
Email: barnette@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7350
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~barnette
Office Hours: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~barnette
 
 

Christopher L. Barrett Biocomplexity Institute of Virginia Tech

Professor

Office: 1015 Life Science Circle
Email: cbarrett@vbi.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1745
Website: http://ndssl.vbi.vt.edu/people/cbarrett/
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Cory Bart

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 2216
Email: acbart@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-9264
Website:  
Office Hours:  
 
 

Doug A. Bowman

Professor

Office: 1134 KWII
Email: dbowman@vt.edu
Phone:  
Website: https://research.cs.vt.edu/3di/user/123
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: by appointment
 
 

Ali R. Butt

Professor
Computer Science
Electrical and Computer Engineering (by courtesy)
College of Engineering Faculty Fellow

Office: 2207 KWII
Email: butta@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0489
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/butta/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Kirk W. Cameron

Professor

Office: 2209 KWII
Email: cameron@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4238
Website: http://scape.cs.vt.edu/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: McBryde 122-A: TR: 10:00 to 11:00 a.m.
 
 

Yang Cao

Associate Professor

Office: 2160L Torgersen Hall
Email: ycao@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1417
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~ycao/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: TR: 9:30 to 10:30 a.m.
 
 

Ing-Ray Chen Northern Virginia Center

Professor NCR Computer Science Program Director

Office: 312 Northern Virginia Center
Email: irchen@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8376
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~irchen/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: TR: 3-4pm
 
 

Stephen H. Edwards

Professor Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies

Office: 2214 KWII
Email: edwards@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5723
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~edwards/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: by appointment (online classes only, Fall 2016)
 
 

Margaret Ellis

Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: 630 McBryde Hall
Email: maellis1@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9560
Website:  
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday: 12:30pm-2:30pm
 
 

Wu Feng

Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellowship and Professor

Office: 2209 KWII
Email: feng@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1192
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~feng
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: McBryde 122-B, TR 1:45 - 3:15 pm
 
 

Edward A Fox

Professor

Office: 2160G Torgersen Hall
Email: fox@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5113
Website: http://fox.cs.vt.edu
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: Wed 12-1, Fri 1-3
 
 

Denis Gracanin

Associate Professor

Office: 1135 KWII
Email: gracanin@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-2060
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~gracanin/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: McBryde 122-BA TR: 9:30am to 10:45am
 
 

Steve Harrison

Associate Professor of Practice director, Human-Centered Design program (IGEP/Grad School); co-director, Social Informatics area (Center for HCI/ICAT)

Office: 1121 KWII
Email: srh@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7783
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~srh/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: Fall 2017: Fridays 3:00-5:00, 253 Moss Art Center or by appointment in 1121 VTKW II
 
 

Lenwood S Heath

Professor

Office: 2160J Torgersen Hall
Email: heath@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4352
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~heath/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: TR: 1:00 - 3:00 pm
 
 

Matthew Hicks

Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 2211
Email: mdhicks2@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-8521
Website:  
Office Hours:  
 
 

Bert Huang

Assistant Professor

Office: 3160L Torgersen Hall
Email: bhuang@vt.edu
Phone: (540)-231-6772
Website: http://berthuang.com
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: Tuesdays 11:00 AM–12:00 PM and Thursdays 2:00 PM–3:00 PM
 
 

Xun Jian

Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 2210
Email: xunj@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 232-8433
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/xunj/profile.html
Office Hours:  
 
 

Changhee Jung

Assistant Professor

Office: 2227 KWII
Email: chjung@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0908
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~chjung
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Dennis Kafura

Professor

Office: KWII 2218
Email: kafura@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5568
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~kafura/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Andrea L. Kavanaugh

Senior Research Scientist Associate Director; Center for Human-Computer Interaction

Office: 1116 KWII
Email: kavan@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1806
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/user/kavanaugh
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Aisling Kelliher

Associate Professor

Office: KW II 1124
Email: aislingk@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0415
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~aislingk/
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Benjamin Knapp

Director of the Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology (ICAT)
Professor

Office: KWII 2228
Email: benknapp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1911
Website:  
Office Hours:  
 
 

Greg Kulczycki Northern Virginia Center

Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: 312B
Email: gregwk@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-3758
Website:  
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Dongyoon Lee

Assistant Professor

Office: 2228 KWII
Email: dongyoon@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0667
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~dongyoon/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Wenjing Lou Northern Virginia Center

Professor

Office: 304 Northern Virginia Center
Email: wjlou@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-3774
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/wjlou
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Chang-Tien Lu Northern Virginia Center

Professor

Office: 310 Northern Virginia Center
Email: ctlu@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8373
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~ctlu
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: Tu 3-4PM, W 10-11AM
 
 

Kurt Luther

Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 1114
Email: kluther@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4857
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~kluther/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Madhav Marathe Biocomplexity Institute of Virginia Tech

Professor

Office: 1800 Pratt Drive (RB XV)
Email: marathe@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-8832
Website: http://ndssl.vbi.vt.edu/people/mmarathe/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Scott McCrickard

Associate Professor

Office: 1118 KWII
Email: dmccrick@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6698
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~mccricks/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: TTH 2-4 (in McBryde 106A) or by appointment
 
 

William D McQuain

Senior Instructor

Office: 634 McBryde Hall
Email: wmcquain@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 231-5605
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~mcquain
Office Hours: MW: 10:00 - 12:00, TR 15:30 - 17:00, and by appointment
 
 

Na Meng

Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 2226
Email: nm8247@cs.vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5492
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/nm8247/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Tanushree Mitra

Assistant Professor

Office: Torg 3160E
Email: tmitra@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7584
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/tmitra/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

T. M. Murali

Professor

Office: 2160B Torgersen
Email: tmurali@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-8534
Website: https://bioinformatics.cs.vt.edu/~murali/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Chris North

Professor Associate Director, Discovery Analytics Center

Office: 3160D Torgersen
Email: north@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-2458
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~north
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Alexey V Onufriev

Professor, Computer Science and Physics

Office: 2160C Torgersen
Email: alexey@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4237
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~onufriev/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: by appointment
 
 

Nicholas F. Polys

Affiliate Professor

Office: 3030B Torgersen Hall
Email: npolys@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0968
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~npolys/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Aditya Prakash

Assistant Professor

Office: Torg 3160 F
Email: badityap@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0906
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/badityap/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Sharath Raghvendra

Assistant Professor

Office: 2160H Torgersen Hall
Email: sharathr@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6256
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~sharathr/
Office Hours: By Appointment
 
 

Naren Ramakrishnan Arlington, VA

Thomas L. Phillips Professor of Engineering

Office: Room 5-026
Email: naren@vt.edu
Phone: (571) 858-3331
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~ramakris/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Chandan K. Reddy Arlington, VA

Associate Professor

Office: Room 5-014, VTRC
Email: reddy@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (571) 858-3307
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~reddy/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By Appointment
 
 

Calvin J. Ribbens

Professor and Department Head

Office: 1108 KWII
Email: ribbens@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6262
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~ribbens/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Adrian Sandu

Professor

Office: 2224 KW-II
Email: asandu7@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2193
Website: http://www.cs.vt.edu/~asandu
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: McBryde 122-A: Thursday 12:45 - 1:45 pm
 
 

Francisco Servant

Assistant Professor

Office:  
Email: fservant@vt.edu
Phone:  
Website: http://www.fservant.com
Office Hours:  
 
 

Mohammed Seyam

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: KWII 1125
Email: seyam@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-2646
Website:  
Office Hours:  
 
 

Cliff Shaffer

Professor Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies

Office: 2000A Torgersen
Email: shaffer@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4354
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~shaffer/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Deborah Tatar

Professor

Office: KWII 1123
Email: dtatar@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-8457
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/dtatar/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: McBryde 106: M: 5:00 - 6:00, KWII 1123: W: 11:00 - 12:00, and by appointment
 
 

Eli Tilevich

Associate Professor

Office: 2213 KWII
Email: tilevich@cs.vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-3475
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~tilevich
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By Appointment
 
 

Igor S Tolokh

Senior Research Scientist

Office: 2160D Torgersen
Email: itolokh@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6567
Website: https://bioinformatics.cs.vt.edu/~tolokh/
Office Hours:  
 
 

Anil Vullikanti Biocomplexity Institute of Virginia Tech

Associate Professor

Office: RB XV, 1880 Pratt Dr., VBI
Email: vsakumar@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-3968
Website: http://ndssl.vbi.vt.edu/people/akumar.php
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By appointment
 
 

Gang Wang

Assistant Professor

Office: Knowledge Works II, Office 2223
Email: gangwang@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-0331
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~gangwang/
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours: By Appointment
 
 

Hao Wang

Research Associate

Office: 2050 Torgersen Hall
Email: hwang121@cs.vt.edu
Phone:  
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~hwang121
Office Hours:  
 
 

Layne T. Watson

Professor, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Aerospace and Ocean Engineering

Office: 2000B Torgersen
Email: ltw@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7540
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~ltw/shortvita.html
Office Hours: McBryde 122-A: MW: 11:00 am to 12:30 pm
 
 

Danfeng (Daphne) Yao

Associate Professor, Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellow and L-3 Faculty Fellow

Office: 2222 KWII
Email: danfeng@vt.edu
Phone: (540)231-7787
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~danfeng
Publication statistics: Google Scholar Profile
Office Hours:  
 
 

Liqing Zhang

Associate Professor

Office: 2160K Torgersen
Email: lqzhang@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-9413
Website: http://people.cs.vt.edu/~lqzhang/
Office Hours: