Virginia Tech®home

Computer Science Faculty and Staff

Group photo of the computer science faculty and staff outside.

Chris Brown, Assistant Professor
2218 Knowledgeworks II | dcbrown@vt.edu | (540) 231-9176
Research Areas:  Digital Education | Human Computer Interaction | Software Engineering

Onyeka Emebo, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1220D Torgersen | onyeka@vt.edu | (540) 231-3591
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Digital Education | Software Engineering

Mohammed Farghally, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1200A Torgersen | mfseddik@vt.edu  | (540) 231-6044
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Peng Gao, Assistant Professor
2217 Knowledgeworks II | penggao@vt.edu  | (540) 231-9060
Research Areas: Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Security | Software Engineering | Systems

Shaddi Hasan, Assistant Professor
1131 Knowledgeworks II | shaddi@vt.edu  | (540) 231-1005
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction | Systems

Liting Hu, Assistant Professor
1125 Knowledgeworks II | litinghu@vt.edu | (540) 231-2646
Research Areas: Systems

Eugenia Rho, Assistant Professor
1123 Knowledgeworks II | eugenia@vt.edu | (540) 231-8457
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Dan Williams, Assistant Professor
1124 Knowledgeworks II  |  djwillia@vt.edu  | (540) 231-0415
Research Areas: Systems

Yalong Yang, Assistant Professor
1121 Knowledgeworks II | yalongyang@vt.edu  | (540) 231-7783
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Dawei Zhou, Assistant Professor (Spring 2022)
zhoud@vt.edu
Research Area: Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Godmar Back, Associate Professor
2212 Knowledgeworks II | gback@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-3046
Research Areas:  Systems

Osman Balci, Professor
638 McBryde | balci@vt.edu | (540) 231-4841
Research Areas:  Software Engineering

Dwight Barnette, Senior Instructor
Director of Academic Operations
632 McBryde | barnette@vt.edu | (540) 231-7350
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Debswapna Bhattacharya, Associate Professor
2160N Torgersen | dbhattacharya@vt.edu  | (540) 231-2865
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics | Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Doug A. Bowman, Frank J. Maher Professor
1134 Knowledgeworks II | dbowman@vt.edu | (540) 231-2058
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

Chris Brown, Assistant Professor
2218 Knowledgeworks II | dcbrown@vt.edu | (540) 231-9176
Research Areas:  Digital Education | Human Computer Interaction | Software Engineering

Ali R. Butt, Professor
Associate Department Head for Faculty Development
2207 Knowledgeworks II | butta@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-0489
Research Areas: Systems

Kirk W. Cameron, Professor
Associate Department Head for Research and Engagement
2209 Knowledgeworks II | cameron@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-4238
Research Areas:  HPC and Computational Science | Systems

Young Cao, Associate Professor
2160L Torgersen | ycao@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-1417
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics | HPC and Computational Science

Ing-Ray Chen, Professor
308 Northern Virginia Center | irchen@vt.edu |(703) 538-8376
Research Areas:  Security | Systems

Jin-Hee Cho, Associate Professor
310 Northern Virginia Center | jicho@vt.edu | (703) 538-1234
Research Areas:  Security

Taejoong Chung, Assistant Professor
2228 Knowledgeworks II | tijay@vt.edu | (540) 231-0667
Research Areas:  Security

Bob Edmison, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1220A Torgersen | kedmison@vt.edu | (540) 231-3957
Research Areas:  Digital Education | Software Engineering

Stephen H. Edwards, Professor
Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
2230B Torgersen | edwards@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-5723
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Hoda Eldardiry, Associate Professor
3160D Torgersen | hdardiry@vt.edu | (540) 231-0906
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction | Security

Margaret Ellis, Associate Professor of Practice
2230A Torgersen | maellis1@vt.edu | (540) 231-9560
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Onyeka Emebo, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1220D Torgersen | onyeka@vt.edu | (540) 231-3591
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Digital Education | Software Engineering

Andrey Esakia, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1220C Torgersen | esakia@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-1172
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Mohammed Farghally, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1220B Torgersen | mfseddik@vt.edu  | (540) 231-6044
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Wu Feng, Professor
Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellow
2050A Torgersen | feng@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-1192
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Digital Education | Human Computer Interaction | Systems

Edward A. Fox, Professor
2160G Torgersen | fox@vt.edu | (540) 231-5113
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Digital Education | Human Computer Interaction

Peng Gao, Assistant Professor
2217 Knowledgeworks II | penggao@vt.edu | (540) 231-9060
Research Areas: Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Security | Software Engineering | Systems

Denis Gracanin, Associate Professor
1135 Knowledgeworks II | gracanin@vt.edu | (540) 231-2060
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

Muhammad Ali Gulzar, Assistant Professor
2224 Knowledgeworks II | gulzar@vt.edu | (540) 231-0851
Research Areas:  Software Engineering | Systems

Shaddi Hasan, Assistant Professor
1131 Knowledgeworks II | shaddi@vt.edu  | (540) 231-1005
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction | Systems

Lenwood S. Heath, Professor
2160J Torgersen | heath@vt.edu | (540) 231-4352
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics | Mathematical Foundations

Matthew Hicks, Assistant Professor
2211 Knowledgeworks II | mdhicks2@vt.edu | (540) 231-8521
Research Areas:  Security

Thang Hoang, Assistant Professor
2216 Knowledgeworks II | thanghoang@vt.edu  | (540) 231-0908
Research Areas:  Security

Sara Hooshangi, Collegiate Associate Professor
Director of MEng in CS Program
480 Norther Virginia Center | shoosh@vt.edu | (703) 538-8359
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Liting Hu, Assistant Professor
1125 Knowledgeworks II | litinghu@vt.edu  | (540) 231-2646
Research Areas: Systems

Lifu Huang, Assistant Professor
3160E Torgersen | lifuh@vt.edu | (540) 231-7584
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Bo Ji, Associate Professor
2223 Knowledgeworks II | boji@vt.edu | (540) 231-0331
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Mathematical Foundations | Systems

Xun Jian, Assistant Professor
2210 Knowledgeworks II | xunj@vt.edu | (540) 232-8433
Research Areas:  Systems

Dennis Kafura, Professor
2160M Torgersen | kafura@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-5568
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Anuj Karpatne, Assistant Professor
3120 Torgersen | karpatne@vt.edu | (540) 231-6420
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Aisling Kelliher, Associate Professor
1124 Knowledgeworks II | aislingk@vt.edu | (540) 231-0415
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

Benjamin Knapp, Professor
213 Moss Arts Center | benknapp@vt.edu | (540) 231-1911
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

Greg Kulczycki, Associate Professor of Practice
312B Northern Virginia Center | gregwk@vt.edu | (703) 538-3758
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Sang Won Lee, Assistant Professor
1114 Knowledgeworks II | sangwonlee@vt.edu | (540) 231-4857
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

Wenjing Lou, W.C. English Professor
304 Northern Virginia Center | wjlou@vt.edu | (703) 538-3774
Research Areas:  Security

Ismini Lourentzou, Assistant Professor
3160L Torgersen | ilourentzou@vt.edu  | (540) 231-6772
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Chang-Tien Lu, Professor
NCR Computer Science Program Director
312 Northern Virginia Center | ctlu@vt.edu | (703) 538-8373
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Kurt Luther, Associate Professor
5-012 Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | kluther@vt.edu | (571) 858-3335
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction | Security

Scott McCrickard, Associate Professor
1118 Knowledgeworks II | dmccrick@vt.edu | (540) 231-6698
Research Areas:  Human Computer Interaction

David McPherson, Advanced Instructor
1200B Torgersen | dmcphers@vt.edu | (540) 231-3153
Research Areas:  Digital Education

William D. McQuain, Senior Instructor
634 McBryde | wmcquain@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-5605
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Na Meng, Associate Professor
2226 Knowledgeworks II | nm8247@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-5492
Research Areas:  Software Engineering

T. M. Murali, Professor
2160B Torgersen | tmurali@vt.edu | (540) 231-8534
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics | Mathematical Foundations

Dimitrios Nikolopoulos, John W. Hancock Professor of Engineering
2214 Knowledgeworks II | dsn@vt.edu | (540) 231-4260
Research Areas:  HPC and Computational Science | Systems

Chris North, Professor
3160D Torgersen | north@vt.edu | (540) 231-2458
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Alexey V. Onufriev, Professor
2160C Torgersen | alexey@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-4237
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics | HPC and Computational Science

Sharath Raghvendra, Associate Professor
2160H Torgersen | sharathr@vt.edu | (540) 231-6256
Research Areas:  Mathematical Foundations

Naren Ramakrishnan, Thomas L. Phillips Professor of Engineering
5-026 Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | naren@vt.edu | (571) 858-3331
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Chandan K. Reddy, Professor
5-014 Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | reddy@cs.vt.edu | (571) 858-3307
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP

Eugenia Rho, Assistant Professor
1123 Knowledgeworks II | eugenia@vt.edu | (540) 231-8457
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Calvin J. Ribbens, Professor
Department Head
1180B Torgersen | ribbens@vt.edu | (540) 231-6262
Research Areas:  HPC and Computational Science

Adrian Sandu, Professor
2224 Knowledgeworks II | asandu7@vt.edu | (540) 231-2193
Research Areas:  HPC and Computational Science

Mohammed Seyam, Collegiate Assistant Professor
1200A Torgersen | seyam@vt.edu | (540) 231-5502
Research Areas:  Digital Education | Human Computer Interaction | Software Engineering

Cliff Shaffer, Professor
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
2000A Torgersen | shaffer@vt.edu | (540) 231-4354
Research Areas:  Digital Education

Jamie Sikora, Assistant Professor
2160E Torgersen | sikora@vt.edu | (540) 231-5964
Research Areas:  Mathematical Foundations | Security

Eli Tilevich, Professor
2213 Knowledgeworks II | tilevich@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-3475
Research Areas:  Digital Education | Software Engineering

Bimal Viswanath, Assistant Professor
2227 Knowledgeworks II | vbimal@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-8702
Research Areas:  Security

Layne Watson, Professor
2000B Torgersen | ltw@vt.edu | (540) 231-7540
Research Areas:  HPC and Computational Science | Mathematical Foundations

Dan Williams, Assistant Professor
1124 Knowledgeworks II | djwillia@vt.edu | (540) 231-0415
Research Areas: Systems

Yalong Yang, Assistant Professor
1121 Knowledgeworks II | yalongyang@vt.edu  | (540) 231-7783
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Human Computer Interaction

Danfeng (Daphne) Yao, Professor
Elizabeth and James E. Turner Jr. '56 Faculty Fellow and CACI Faculty Fellow
2220 Torgersen | danfeng@vt.edu | (540) 231-7787
Research Areas:  Data Analytics, Machine Learning, and NLP | Security | Software Engineering | Systems

Liqing Zhang, Professor
2160K Torgersen | lqzhang@vt.edu | (540) 231-9413
Research Areas:  Computational Biology and Bioinformatics

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Chris Arnold
Computer Systems Engineer
2202 Knowledgeworks II | carnold@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-5464

Jennifer Bradley
Academic Advisor
1160D Torgersen | jrsotto@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Benjamin Bradner
DevOps Specialist
2233 Knowledgeworks II | bbradner@vt.edu | (540) 231-0048

Leigh Anne Byrd
Academic Advisor
1160C Torgersen | leigha@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Richard Charles
Technical Lead
2239 Knowledgeworks II | rich08@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-7227

Kim Chiapetto
Receptionist & Program Support Tech
3210 Torgersen | chiapett@vt.edu | (540) 231-0746

Sheila Clark
Grants Administrator
1140C Torgersen | sheila.clark@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-8760

Julia Costello
Strategic Partnership Coordinator
1106 Knowledgeworks II | juliapc7@vt.edu | (540) 231-8945

Melanie Darden
Financial Specialist
1180D Torgersen | mdarden@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-2068

Michael Davis
Fixed Assets Coordinator
2233 Knowledgeworks II | michd91@vt.edu | (540) 231-7618

Ruth Labbe Hale
Student Support & Enrollment Specialist
1160 Knowledgeworks II | ruth2018@vt.edu | (540) 231-0332

Teresa Hall
Fiscal Technician
1180E Torgersen | teresa@vt.edu | (540) 231-8454

James Harder
External Engagement Project Manager
1108 Knowledgeworks II | jharder@vt.edu | (540) 231-2092

Tabitha Hartman
Office Manager and Executive Assistant
1180C Torgersen | hartt@vt.edu | (540) 231-8452

Rob Hunter
Research Systems Administrator
2233 Knowledgeworks II | rhunter@vt.edu | (540) 231-6470

Jenise Jacques
Marketing and Communications Coordinator
1107 Knowledgeworks II | jenise@vt.edu | (540) 231-7538

Paige Johnson
Director of Undergraduate Programs
1160A Torgersen | paigej@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Sharon Kinder-Potter
Graduate Program Coordinator
3210 Torgersen | skpotter@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-6932

Robert Marcum
Business Manager
1180G Torgersen | marcumr@cs.vt.edu | (540) 231-7537

Trey Mayo
Director of Graduate Programs
3210C Torgersen | treymayo@vt.edu | (540) 231-0780

Tonisha Montgomery
Academic Advisor
1140E Torgersen | tonisham@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Joyce Newberry
Grants Administrator
5-197 Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | joyce15@vt.edu | (571) 858-3360

Roxanne Paul
Administrative & Program Specialist
312A Northern Virginia Center | roxpaul@vt.edu | (703) 538-8370

Samantha Pipkin
MEng Graduate Prog Coordinator
479 Northern Virginia Center | samanthap@vt.edu | (703) 538-3766

Brittany Rasmussen
Event Specialist
1105 Knowledgeworks II | britf91@vt.edu | (540) 231-1369

Hayley Roulston
Alumni Relations Coordinator
1104 Knowledgeworks II | hayleyr@vt.edu | (540) 231-6791

Wanawsha Shalaby
Sanghani Center Manager of Operations
Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | wanah92@vt.edu | (571) 858-3361

Mike Thompson
Computer Support Specialist
2233 Knowledgeworks II | miket@vt.edu | (540) 231-3167

Ryan Underwood
Academic Advisor
1140F Torgersen | ryanunderwood@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Juanita Victoria
Program Coordinator
Virginia Tech Research Center-Arlington | juaniv6@vt.edu | (571) 858-3105

Joan Monahan Watson
Director of Administrative Operations
1180F Torgersen | jmwatson@vt.edu | (540) 231-8874

Debbie Zier
Program Support Tech
1160 Torgersen | debzi5@vt.edu | (540) 231-6931

Ico Bukvic (SOPA)

Lance Collins (ME)

Joseph Gabbard (ISE)

Tom Hou (ECE)

Ben Jantzen (Philosophy)

Myounghoon Philart Jeon (ISE)

Wallace Lages (SOVA)

Tom Martin (ECE)

Scott Midkiff (ECE)

Joe Tront (ECE)

Mark Gardner

Erin Lanus

Todd Ogle

Nicholas Polys

Siwei Cao

Charles Clancey

Dan Dunlap

Luke Gusukuma

Bert Huang

Michael Irwin

Jiepu Jiang

Changhee Jung

Dongyoon Lee

John Lewis

Tanushree Mitra

Dave Noller

Mark Oliva

Aditya Prakash

Francisco Servant

K. Todd Stevens

Gang Wang

John Wenskovitch

Patrick Butler

Yimin Chen

Brian Mayer

Michael Moukarzel

Paul Sathre

Nathan Self

Igor Tolokh

Donald Allison

James Arthur

Roger Ehrich

Steve Harrison

H. Rex Hartson

Jan Lee

Richard Nance